Lady Irwin College

University of Delhi
NAAC Accredation A+ | NIRF Ranking 24

90th Founders Day Celebration on 1st March 2023

90th Founders Day Celebration on 1st March 2023

Chief Guest, Prof. Dhananjay Joshi, Vice Chancellor

Guest of Honor, Prof. Balaram Pani, Dean of Colleges

90th Founders Day Celebration on 1st March 2023

90th Founders Day Celebration

90th Founders Day Celebration

Wheat Cutting on Baisakhi (13.04.2023)

National Abilympics of India has won 7 Medals in 10th International Abilympics Event at Metz, France. We won 1 Gold, 2 Silver, 3 Bronze & 1 Medal of Excellence. Please bless our glorious candidates. Today with President of India

President with Lady Irwin Faculty 1967

Plantation Drive 24th March 2023

प्रो.सीमा सेखरी द्वारा जारी हिन्दी पुस्तक प्रकाशन "वस्त्र विज्ञान"

Department of Home Science Ph.D. Scholars received their Degree 25th Feb. 2023.

वृक्षारोपण अभियान (Plantation Drive) 16th Nov. 2022

Awards & Accolades

From Director’s Desk

Dear students,

Welcome to Lady Irwin College. The College has a glorious history and support of eminent national and international leaders in the past. It strives to give the best education to young women and build their capacities to meet challenges of their times. Today, college endeavours to prepare young women with a scientific temper. The teaching pedagogies are of international acclaim. Several educationists from US, UK, Australia and other countries have tried to learn various aspects of our programme. The University of Delhi has recognized our innovative approaches and methodologies of connecting to grass-root realities. Read More

Dr. Anupa Siddhu, Director, Lady Irwin College

Departments & Courses

Food & Nutrition & Food Technology

  • M.Sc. in Food & Nutrition
  • Post Graduate Diploma in Dietetics and Public Health Nutrition (PGDDPHN)
  • Ph. D. In Food and Nutrition

Human Development & Childhood Studies (HDCS)

  • M. Sc. In Human Development & Childhood Studies
  • Ph. D. in Human Development and Childhood Studies

Development Communication & Extensions (DCE)

  • M. Sc. in Development Communication & Extension
  • Ph. D. in Development Communication & Extension

Resource Management & Design Application (RMDA)

  • M. Sc. in Resource Management & Design Application
  • Ph. D. in Resource Management & Design Application

Fabric & Apparel Science (FAS)

  • M. Sc. in Fabric and Apparel Science
  • Ph. D. in Fabric and Apparel Science

Department of Education (B.Ed)

  • B. Ed.
  • B. Ed. Special Education (Mental Retardation)

Department of Science

  • Science

Department of English

  • Science

Alumni Speak

  • IPCA is a Delhi based Environmental NGO where I look after the Corporate Social Responsibility department. I opted for Environment Management and Sustainability Development course at Lady Irwin College and have not looked back since then. RMDA has given me a powerful tool of unlocking my potentials and my capabilities. This course made us connect with the real world and helped in solving problems with practicality and knowledge. I could not have spent my time any better than this. In an age where industry demands students who have learned differently, this curriculum and the professional development provides various opportunities for addressing both of those forces.”

    Akansha Gupta
    Senior Manager, Indian Pollution Control Association (IPCA).
  • The MSc Textiles and Clothing programme helped me enter the industry as a youngster and the learnings continue to help me excel in my profession even today. While the applications may differ, the theoretical framework continues to drive me towards the right approach. What intrigues me most, is the fact that how relevant the whole programme is, even today, after more than three decades.

    Dr. Varsha Gupta
    Professor, Master of Design Department and Chairperson of Foundation Programme, NIFT, New Delhi
    1988-1990 Batch

Eminent Visitors & Speakers

Mahatma Gandhi
Dr. Helen Keller
Queen Soraya
HRH Queen Elizabeth II
Ms. Eleanor Roosevelt
Princess Beatrix of Holland
Lady Halifax
Lord Mountbatten
Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru
Dr. Rajendra Prasad
Dr. S. Radhakrishnan
Sh. Rajagopalachari
Dr. Zakir Hussain
Smt. Indira Gandhi
Shri P.V. Narasimha Rao
Dr. Manmohan Singh
Smt. Sonia Gandhi
Dr. Karan Singh
Smt. Shiela Dixit
Justice Leela Seth
Sh. Javed Akhtar
Sh. Shyam Saran
Dr. Kiran Bedi
Sh. Sam Pitroda
Dr. S.Y. Quraishi
Ms. Aruna Roy
Ms. Medha Patkar
Prof. Dinesh Singh
Ms. Agatha Sangma
Ms. Sudha Pillai
Dr. Shyam Menon
Ms. Mrinal Pande
Dr. Darlie O. Koshy

Activities & Initiatives

Mutual Exchange Programme, Department of Education, Lady Irwin College (25th Apr.2023)

Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti celebration 2022

Explaining UG Admissions under Common Seat Allocation System (CSAS) - 2022 (27th Sept. 2022)

Reservation Policies for SC, ST, OBC-NCL, EWS and PwBD candidates (30th Sept. 2022)

Undergraduate Curriculum Framework (UGCF) - 2022 (28th Sept. 2022)

Session with Colleges-Under-Graduate Curriculum Framework-2022 (23 Sept. 2022)

75th Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav

Plantation Drive 6th Sept. 2021

Skip to content